Healthcare IT Communities


American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)

AMIA (the American Medical Informatics Association) is the professional home of leading informaticians: clinicians, scientists, researchers, educators, students and other informatics professionals who rely on data to connect people, information, and technology. AMIA is the center of action for more than 4,000 health care professionals, informatics researchers, and thought-leaders in biomedicine, health care and science.

About AMIA
Clinical Informatics
AMIA Decision Support Work Group
Clinical Research Informatics

The Clinical Information Modeling Initiative (CIMI)

The Clinical Information Modeling Initiative (CIMI) is an international collaboration that is dedicated to providing a common format for detailed specifications for the representation of health information content so that semantically interoperable information may be created and shared in health records, messages and documents.

About CIMI
CIMI Wiki Link Mayo Clinic
S&I Framework Newsletter article on CIMI

Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)

HIMSS Mobile Health

IHE logo
Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise (IHE)


SNOMED International

About SNOMED (Formerly IHTSDO)


Health Level 7 HL7

HL7 provides a framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information. The standards define how information is packaged and communicated from one party to another, setting the language, structure and data types required for seamless integration between systems. HL7 standards support clinical practice and the management, delivery, and evaluation of health services, and are recognized as the most commonly used in the world.

HL7 Community
Work Group Conference Calls

NIST Medical Device Interoperability

NIST Device Interoperability


SemanticHealthNet Europe

Cloud Technologies for Healthcare

Cloud Interoperability Magazine

Community information is believed to be accurate, please verify with sponsoring organizations.